I get many new potential affiliates on the Sugarrae website and when you've never done affiliate marketing before, any terms can be confusing. I have therefore created this glossary of affiliate marketing terms to help new affiliates and bloggers understand the terminology used in the industry.
Above the Fold
The section of a site or blog when someone lands on a page of your site without them having to scroll.
This is the company that produces the products or services that you promote as an affiliate. More commonly called the merchant.
Also called "spyware". Adware is usually included in the free computer programs that users download without realizing that Adware is also part of the package. In many cases, advertisements are unwanted and difficult to eliminate, even after uninstalling the offending program. Most merchants do not work with affiliates who want to promote their offers through Adware. Get more information about affiliate adware .
Person who promotes products or services for a trader in return for compensation for sales or leads that she drives. See my article on How Affiliate Marketing Works for More Information
The Agreement Between the merchant and the affiliate regarding the affiliate relationship. It generally defines the roles, rules, responsibilities and legalities of the relationship on both sides.
A link provided by the merchant that includes a unique tracking code that is specifically assigned to you for the merchant to track sales that you are responsible for generating for them.
The person who runs an affiliate program for a merchant. They are responsible for recruiting affiliates, ensuring that affiliates use the promotional methods above and to increase affiliate sales for the merchant. They also act as a liaison between the affiliate and the merchant. The affiliate manager can work directly for the merchant or be an independent service provider hired by the merchant to run his or her affiliate program. Also called an OPM
A third party that provides affiliate program management to a merchant. Affiliate networks provide technology to track affiliate efforts, track sales, pay commissions to affiliates, manage reports for the merchant and individual affiliates, and help expose the merchant to potential affiliates for their products and services.
A program offered by a merchant to allow individuals to recommend or direct people to their products. or services in exchange for the receipt by the person of a commission based on a predefined desired result generated by the referral. The "individuals" who send the referrals are called affiliates.
A software that a merchant can use to run its own affiliate program internally rather than using a network of Affiliate who helps the merchant trace affiliate efforts and generates affiliate reports.
A unique identifier attached to the links you use to send traffic to the merchant who is specifically for you to track your sales for or referrals to the merchant. Example of affiliate tracking in a link: merchant.com/?ID=YourUniqueID – get more information on affiliate tracking and how to implement it here
word for affiliate.
Merchants approve or deny the entry of their affiliates to their program in two ways – by automatic approval or by manual approval. Self-approval means that they approve all affiliate applications automatically and instantly.
Ad graphic that an affiliate puts on his website to advertise a merchant.
Refers to a returned product or a "falling" sale for which you have already been paid. Since the sale has not been finalized, the merchant will deduct the amount you previously received in commission for this sale from your affiliate commissions. In lead generation, this can also happen if the merchant decides that the leads sent were unskilled or fraudulent in nature.
When it comes to affiliate marketing, click fraud most often refers to fake "clicks on a merchant program that is based on a PPC compensation method False clicks (which can be generated manually or automatically) have no chance of conversion for the merchant because the traffic that clicks on the ads has no real interest in the product or service that the merchant sells.
Also sometimes spelled as "Click Thru." This refers to the act of someone clicking on your link.
Click-Through Rate (CTR)
Also sometimes spelled as "Click Thru Rate." An indicator used to display the number of clicks and clicks on the merchant site. once your affiliate link has been clicked in relation to the number of times the link has been displayed as a percentage. To find your CTR, just take the number of clicks that the link has received and divide it by the number of impressions (multiplied by the link) and multiply by 100 the result to get your CTR percentage. Example: If you display an ad banner that has received 100 impressions and received 1 click, you must take 1 (clicks) and divide by 100 (impressions) to get .01 (result) and multiply it by 100 to arrive at a CTR of 1%.
Hide content on a webpage or hide an affiliate tracking code in links. Hiding the content on a web page is bad because it is contrary to the guidelines of traditional search engines such as Google. Hiding affiliate tracking in a link is an acceptable and widely used practice. If you want more information, I have written an article on why and how I hide the affiliate links .
Refer to a text link placed in your website or blog content in relation to a link that is placed in the sidebar as a more traditional advertisement.
Some merchants will create a specific and personalized landing page for an affiliate to send referrals to that contains both the brand image of the merchant and the merchant. 39, brand image of the affiliate reference. Example – A merchant could create a page on the merchant's website that shows a lead form that contains both the merchant's logo and the specific affiliate's logo on the page. This is what is called co-branding. Many times, traders limit the possibilities of co-branding to the sole availability of Super Affiliates
Money or predefined fees that a merchant pays to a affiliate to generate a predefined and desired result for the merchant.
Get a user to perform a specific and desired action. It may be to purchase a product or service, fill out a form, subscribe to a mailing list, or for any purpose
An indicator used to display the number of times your affiliate link has generated a predefined conversion compared to the number of times the link has been viewed displayed as a percentage. To find out your conversion rate, take the amount of sales generated by a link and divide it by the number of impressions that the link has received and multiply the result by 100 to get the percentage of your conversion rate. Example: If your link has been viewed 100 times and generated 2 sales, you must take 2 (sales) and divide if 100 (impressions) to get .02 (result) and multiply by 100 to get a 2% conversion rate
Text file sent from a website to a file in the web browser of a user. Cookies are used for various reasons on the web as a whole. With regard to affiliate marketing, cookies are used to assign an identifier to a user who has clicked on your affiliate link to access a merchant site for a predefined period. If the user returns in this predefined period (that he clicks again on your affiliate link), you will be credited with the sale. Example: A user clicks on your affiliate link (the cookie is "filed" on his browser), then marks the merchant's website to buy it later. The user returns before the cookie expires and makes the purchase. You will receive a credit – and this commission – on the sale.
The length of time a Cookie defined by someone clicking on your affiliate link must show a conversion before you are no longer credited with # A sale even if that user ends up making a purchase. The standard length of a cookie is usually between 30 and 90 days. Anything less than 30 is considered low / short, while anything over 90 is considered healthy above average.
A practice that stealthily deposits merchants 'cookies on users' computers. visited the merchant via the affiliate link and may not even even have the affiliate website. The filling of cookies is carried out with the intention of placing as many cookies as possible on as many computer users as possible in the hope that they will end up on the merchant site and will make a purchase. The larger and larger the trader, the more likely it will happen (think of Amazon). The stuffing of cookies is heavily despised by legitimate affiliates and most merchants prohibit affiliates by using cookies in their affiliate agreements.
Cost per share (also called cost per acquisition). Refers to the amount of money paid to get the desired result (usually something like a sale or a listing).
Cost per click. Refers to the amount of money paid to generate a click by a user on any of your links. Example: If you spent $ 200 on an ad campaign and you received 100 clicks on this campaign, your CPC will be 0.50 cents (clicks generated / campaign cost = CPC).
Per thousand. Refers to the amount of money it costs to display an advertisement for 1,000 impressions. Example: If you wanted to buy advertising on a website offering $ 6 CPM advertising and you wanted to advertise it 10,000 times, you would have to pay $ 60 (desired impressions / 1000 * CPM) for that ad.
Type of graphic ad or text link provided to the affiliate for the promotion of the affiliate program.
Also known as commission. A bonus is the money or predefined fees that a merchant pays to an affiliate to generate a predefined and desired result for the merchant.
A file that contains a list of all products sold by a merchant. This will typically include product images, product descriptions, product prices, affiliate links for products, and more. Affiliate data feeds are often used to make online stores with affiliate products.
A page or notice on your site or blog that informs visitors to your site whether you are paid or compensated (via affiliate marketing or any other method) for any recommendation of purchase or product or service that you bring on your site. A disclosure is necessary if you are doing affiliate marketing to be in compliance with the laws of the FTC. You will find more about this subject here
 [E-mail Link]
An Affiliate Link with Specific Purpose to Be used in an email advertisement.
stands for pay per click. Your earnings per click is the average amount you earn each time someone clicks on your affiliate link. To find your EPC, you must take the amount you generated in the commissions of an affiliate link and divide it by the total number of clicks that the link received. Example: If an affiliate link has generated $ 4,000 in sales for the duration of your affiliate relationship and the same link has been clicked on 12,000 times, you divide $ 4,000 (sales) by 12,000 (clicks) ) to obtain a CPE of 33 cents. This means that you earn an average of 33 cents each time someone clicks on your affiliate link.
In Affiliate Marketing, the first click is often used to describe an affiliate program for a user to click on a link and to make a purchase within the limits of the expiration of the cookie, it must be credited with the sale, even if the user has landed on the site of another affiliate and has actually converted after clicking on a link from the second site. There has long been a debate between whether the first click or the last click is the most beneficial to the affiliate and the merchant.
An impression is the measure of the number of times an advertisement is served a sheet. Each time the ad is displayed, an impression will be counted.
Refers to a merchant who manages his affiliate program by himself using affiliate software and not via an affiliate network. .
Abbreviation for "Independent Affiliate Program" and refers to a merchant who manages his affiliate program himself using affiliate software and not via an affiliate network.
Joint Venture (JV)
This usually refers to a business relationship for an event, product, or project versus a permanent and permanent relationship. Example: If two well-known bloggers were to create a single product together and market it simultaneously as a joint effort, it would be a partnership or a joint venture.
In Affiliate Marketing, the last click is often used to describe an affiliate program where the last affiliate to get a user to click on a link and make a purchase is the one to credit the sale – even if a valid cookie from a previous click on The link of a different affiliate still exists on the users computer. There has long been a debate between whether the first click or the last click is the most beneficial to the affiliate and the merchant.
Merchants approve or deny the entry of their affiliates into their program. two ways – through automatic approval or manual approval. Manual approval means that the merchant or affiliate manager of the program reviews each application for enrollment in its program before deciding whether to approve it or not to participate in the program.
Master Affiliate Network
This is the company that produces the products or services that you promote as an affiliate. More commonly referred to as the Announcer
A specific or vertical subject. Example – if you own a site on dogs, then your niche would be dogs – as well as pets in the broader definition of a niche.
Outsourced Program Manager. Also known as an affiliate manager.
The percentage of people who subscribe to your mailing list out of the total number of people who were presented with the opportunity. If 100 people see your registration form by e-mail and someone registered, you will benefit from a 1% acceptance rate. See more information on how I increased my opt-in conversion rate to 56 +% here .
Stands for salary by sale. In a PPS-based affiliate program, the affiliate receives a commission each time an actual sale is generated.
Means Pay Per Lead. In a PPL-based affiliate program, the affiliate receives a commission each time a lead is generated. An advance could be a completed form, a quote requested or anything else that the merchant specifically identified as a commissionable advance.
Means Pay Per Click. In a PPC-based affiliate program, the affiliate receives a commission each time a user clicks on his affiliate link with the merchant, that's a sale or an advance is generated or not. Pay per click can also refer to an advertising option like Google AdWords.
Threshold of Payment
The dollar amount of commissions that an affiliate must accumulate before being paid. Some traders set themselves a minimum payment threshold (to reduce accounting costs by paying less frequently to people who send very few sales) while others allow the affiliate to do so (usually for avoid receiving smaller checks). ]
There is no difference. It's the service, the product, the content, the advantage or the angle of your website compared to competitors in the same niche that makes your website or blog different and stand out.
PLR stands for Private Label Rights. This refers to the content you can obtain and market under your own brand, as your own resource, and choose to modify as you see fit 19459002 19459003 Raw Clicks 19459001
Often refers to a term. used in affiliate reports that allows you to see how many clicks have occurred on your affiliate link. The gross clicks show every click that occurs, even if it's the result of the same person clicking on an affiliate link 8 times a day. The raw clicks are often displayed in conjunction with unique clicks to give an affiliate a more complete picture of the affiliate link activity.
Most often offered by "Services". With recurring commissions, you are paid when the customer is initially registered and continue to receive commissions as long as the customer continues to pay for the service. Example: If you refer a visitor to an accommodation service that offers recurring commissions and they register, you will receive a pre-defined commission for the initial registration and will receive a predefined commission for every month the customer continues to stay and pay his bill with this accommodation program.
Also referred to as "life commissions". In an affiliate program that offers residual income, you are credited on lifetime sales for any new customer you refer to it, indefinitely against only paid on the first, initial purchase made by the referral.
Means the return on advertising expenses, also shortened several times to return to advertising expenses and can also be called ROI. It refers to the amount of money made as a result of a specific advertising campaign. To know the ROAS of a campaign, you must divide the revenue by the ad spend and multiply the result by 100. The result is presented as a percentage. Example: If you spent $ 200 to run a campaign and made a gross profit of $ 600, you must take $ 600 (revenue) and divide by 200 (ad spend) to get 3, then multiply by 100 to get 300 – displayed as a ROAS of 300%. The amount of more than 100% using this method of calculation is your profit. In this example, this would mean that you received a 200% profit on the campaign.
Return on Investment. I can be calculated by the same method as the ROAS, but in the interest of diversity, I will show you another option to calculate it. To calculate the return on investment of a campaign, you can take the gross profit of the campaign minus the cost of running the campaign and divide it by the cost of the campaign and multiply it by 100 to get a return percentage. Example: If you spent $ 200 to run a campaign and made a gross profit of $ 600, you will get $ 600 (gross profit) – $ 200 (campaign cost) for $ 400 and $ 400 (cost of campaign) for 2 and multiply that by 100 to find a 200% ROI for the campaign.
Search Engine Optimization. Practice optimizing your website to get it to appear higher in the search engines for specific topics and keywords.
Also known as CID tracking, MID tracking, and TID tracking. "SID" is the abbreviation of sub-campaign tracking capabilities offered by Commission Junction . Almost all mainstream networks refer to it differently. SIDs allow you to create specific tracking codes for your affiliate links in order to track the success of a specific effort. I wrote a full article on tracking codes SID, CID, MID and TID if you would like more information about what they are and how they are used.
Also known as A / B testing. The process of testing two versions of content, sales, or advertisements against each other to see which version works best for everything goal that you are trying to reach.
Refers to a page where designed to have only one goal or a desired conversion in mind. Generally, the compression pages remove all distractions for the desired purpose. Example – The navigation elements on the page can be deleted so that the user only focuses on the specific "height" made.
Refers to the best affiliates in an affiliate program – usually the 5% who combined typically generate more than 80% of total sales for the program. Affiliate. In the early days of affiliate marketing, this term was also used to refer to affiliates who made more than $ 10,000 a month by promoting various affiliate programs.
Refers to the type of follow-up Uses of the merchant or network to track the activity, sales and interests of affiliates.
Refers to a link created by linking text to a web page or by using an advertisement banner or other image to a web page.
Same as affiliate tracking. A unique identifier attached to the links you use to send traffic to the merchant who is specifically for you to track your sales or referrals to the merchant. Example of a tracking code in a link: merchant.com/?ID=YOURUNIQUEID – You can find a detailed article on affiliate tracking codes and how to use them here .
Turnkey Websites / DFY
Turnkey Websites – marketed by some as Done For You – are web sites promoted in the premise that someone who is not. Another will build you a site that you can buy, then watch the checks of the affiliate commissions roll in. I do not have a high opinion of these sites. More information here
A two-tier affiliation program allows affiliates to win not only commissions on their own sales, but also get a percentage of the commissions (usually much smaller) earned by those recruited into the affiliate program (either directly because they knew them, or indirectly, that was 39; that is, someone registered as an affiliate using the first affiliate link). ]
Désigne un terme souvent utilisé dans les rapports d'affiliation qui vous permet de voir combien de personnes uniques ont cliqué sur votre lien d'affiliation plutôt que de voir tous les clics (clics bruts) qui se sont produits. Si une personne sur leur ordinateur personnel clique trois fois sur votre lien d'affilié, alors un de ces clics serait considéré comme un clic unique. Ce qui est défini comme unique se réinitialise généralement après 24 heures avec la plupart des programmes. Ainsi, si cette même personne dans l'exemple ci-dessus revient 6 jours plus tard et clique sur votre lien d'affilié 1 fois de plus, elle comptabiliserait désormais 4 clics bruts et 2 clics uniques.
Le «Whitelabeling» fait référence à un marchand qui permet à un affilié de vendre des produits sous sa propre marque sans mention du marchand réel. Les visiteurs du site Web de l'affilié penseraient probablement que c'était l'affilié qui vendait réellement les articles ou prenait les commandes puisqu'il n'y a aucune mention d'un marchand extérieur. Cela se produit généralement par le commerçant créant un site Web uniquement à l'affilié sur leur propre serveur sous leur contrôle et permettant à l'affilié de «masquer» ce site Web comme étant un sous-domaine sur le site Web d'affiliation. Plusieurs fois, les commerçants limitent les opportunités de Whitelabeling à la seule disponibilité des Super Affiliates
Ceci est l'abréviation de Warrior Special Offer et est spécifique à Warrior Forum – un site de forum affilié. Les offres listées sous le tableau du WSO sont censées être des offres spéciales faites par les membres pour promouvoir leur contenu avec des offres spéciales. La véritable valeur des opportunités WSO est débattue en ligne, donc soyez prudent.
Si vous pensez que j'ai manqué quelque chose ou besoin d'ajouter quelque chose, faites le moi savoir dans les commentaires ci-dessous !